Afyon Ulu Camii (Afyon Grand Mosque)
Afyon Ulu Camii which is a wooden structure without nails, bolt or screw gathers significant attraction. Built during the Seldjuk Empire era in 13th c. one of the World’s unique mosques with its 40 wooden pillars and structure without any nails.
Wooden craftsmanship for interior decoration including the gate of the mosque is called as “kündekari” which has a past for centuries involves fixing small geometric pieces with grooves. No nails or any fixatives are used. Hence, these works of art have survived until today without any environmental damage.
Mosque was built between 1272 and 1277 by Nusreddin Hasan.